The family I choose

Everyone has family they are born into. Your grandparents, aunts, uncles, parents, cousins, brothers and sisters. I’m lucky because I have those as well as the family I choose. The one I choose are my friends who are as close if not closer to me than my family. They know my dark side as well as the lighter side of me. They know what makes me tick and what makes me spin. I have a few of these people in my life. I thought at one time I had more, but came to realize that most people have their own agenda. I have since found that there are only three people in this world who have my back and not their own agenda with it.

One is my best friend and love of my life. To him all I can say is I’m glad we found each other at the right time and place. I’m glad we are building this life together and hope it lasts until we are no longer on this earth. You are the concrete under my feet and the air in my lungs. Everyone should have someone like him in their life, who challenges them when it’s needed and supports them when it’s right.

The second person I found recently. He is a great friend who I can talk to about everything! He also was there when some of the other friendships I thought were so strong fell apart. He was there to explain to me what I was missing in the puzzle. I hope we are friends forever, but I know however long our friendship lasts, it is worth everything. He and I have a good strong friendship where even when we disagree we can stay friends and not let it affect it.

The last person is a special person. She came into my life by the grace of God a few years ago. We met because a co-worker introduced us and she is the reason I am the person I am today. She led me into my current job and is a part of it by spirit every day. She lives out of state now, but I still feel more connected to her than any other person in my life. I miss her every day and she is on my mind at least 5 out of 7 days a week. She is strongest woman I know and her faith is unbending. She is an amazing friend and the most supportive person in the world.

I know how important these people are in my life and just wanted to say to them all – you are the best and the family I choose. You all are in my heart and soul every day and I love you!

Leave a Reply

